in respect of agriculture, live stock, dairying, forestry, fisheries, minerals and manufactures, the trade movements as represented by exports and imports, the development of facilities of transportation and communications and public and private finance, with brief reference to the records of public education, temperance and criminality.

Leaving the historian to describe the political events by which the national destiny has been controlled and directed and the economist to appraise the significance and interdependence of social phenomena, my object will rather be to allow the official figures that are available to tell their own story, and so to present them that they may illustrate in readily accessible form the striking national progress of Canada during the half century 1867 to 1917.

AREA AND POLITICAL BOUNDARIES.

At Confederation, in 1867, the area of the four provinces which then formed the Union, viz., Nova Scotia, New Brunswick, Quebec and Ontario, was estimated at 377,000 square miles. This area has been expanded to cover the whole of British North America, with the exception of Newfoundland; and the total area of the Dominion in 1917 was 3,729,665 square miles, divided into nine organized provinces and the Yukon and Northwest Territories. Between the two dates of 1867 and 1917, various territorial acquisitions increasing the size of the Dominion, and territorial adjustments altering the boundaries of provinces, have from time to time been effected. provinces mentioned formed the original Union in 1867; the two extreme maritime provinces joined soon afterwards, viz., the Pacific coast province of British Columbia on July 20, 1871, and the Atlantic province of Prince Edward Island on July 1, 1873. An Imperial Order in Council of June 23, 1870, transferred to the new Dominion Rupert's Land and the Northwest Territories as from July 15, 1870. The province of Manitoba was established on July 15, 1870, the Yukon Territory on June 13, 1898, and the two provinces of Saskatchewan and Alberta were erected on September 1, 1905. addition to the settlement in 1903 of the Alaska boundary between Canada and the United States, there have been various adjustments of the interprovincial boundaries within Canada itself. In 1884 the boundary between Ontario and Manitoba was adjusted, and in 1912 large areas of the Northwest Territories were transferred to the provinces of Quebec, Ontario and Manitoba. Quebec then received the whole of Ungava, excepting that part of Labrador which belongs to Newfoundland, the province of Ontario was carried up to the southern shores of Hudson bay, and Manitoba was extended northwards to the 60th parallel of north latitude. These changes added to Quebec 354,961, to Ontario 146,400 and to Manitoba 178,100 square miles.

Table 1 shows the computed area of the Dominion as constituted in 1867, as it stood at the beginning of each decade from 1871 to 1911 and as it stood on Dominion Day in 1917.